top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Vanilla Rose on YouTube

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Dancing like a pro or dancing your passion up?

I am one of those performers who discovered Burlesque in their late thirties and that regret that it didn’t happen before because, yes, I may have gladly replaced the teddy bear in my cradle with a fluffy feather boa.


But evidently I was not ready and the Universe needed me to go through different experiences in different fields of my life before placing me in the loving and caring arms of this unique and wonderful artform.


Now I know I was born for this. One of the proves of this is, for example, that I grew up watching the movies from the 40s, 50s and 60s (that of course were already vintage, at that time! 😜 Eh eh eh!), and admiring icons like, just to mention a few, Marilyn Monroe, Rita Hayworth, Natalie Wood, Jane Russell, Brigitte Bardot, Gina Lollobrigida, Sofia Loren. I’ve always been incredibly fascinated and inspired by their signature beauty and glamour, their superb fashion style, their breathtaking outfits.

The retro style of the music that was the enchanting soundtrack to the fabulousness of my icons takes me to present day, having recently started this amazing collaboration with BAW BadAss Womxn Burlesque, whose director is Nat aka Fyra Velvette (THE TWO Burlesquers in Cyprus joined forces! Yeah!). We have different styles and this is beneficial to our customers because it allows us to offer a comprehensive range of classes and workshops.


I really admire Nat because, especially in these difficult times, she has become a successful young entrepreneur and in a few months she has created a professional format for her online Burlesque classes. By the way, the point is that Nat is a talented and skilled dancer.

This led me to think (and we come to the core of this post) that I don’t have a background as a professional dancer in general, but despite that I’m very satisfied of the turn that my Burlesque career is taking. My hard work (and it’s been hard, believe me!) is rewarding me. My Burlesque cv is more and more substantial, I’ve been offered opportunities and valuable collaborations. I’m enjoying increasing visibility, a boost in the number of students, interviews, carving out more and more often some space on the local medias. Not to mention that many small (and a few big ones!) projects are on the way...


Do not be misled: I had a proper Burlesque training, learning from talented performers and always keeping myself up-to-date, honing my skills with specific sessions. We never stop learning. The wise says that unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.


A few days ago, the wonderful guys from World Burlesque Day commented (for my great honour, satisfaction and gratitude!) this post

as follows: “We love this dynamic woman who has the most incredible passion for burlesque.”


Yes, I may not be at the level of the most successful pros, but I’m a passionate performer. And I’ve always loved to teach and inspire. And share knowledge. And enjoy the vibes of Burlesque with other women. And feel the warm involvement of my followers. Of the audience.


I may not be a professional dancer, but I’ve always loved to dance. There are those who sing under the shower. I used to dance (not in the shower!) whenever the music I love was playing. And to dream of dancing like Ginger Rogers. And to move according to the rhythm of the music. And to go to a club and dance restlessly for hours! And I still do it. For. Hours.


Let me wear my favourite shoes and play the music that I love, and I’ll get lost in my Wonderland.


bottom of page